Case file / GHO

GHO

StablecoinUS dollar stablecoin0 Confirmed5 Claimed11 Unknown
As of 24 Oct 2026

Issuer: Aave (governed by the Aave DAO)

Contract (ethereum): 0x40D16FC0246aD3160Ccc09B8D0D3A2cD28aE6C2faddress from raw.githubusercontent.comchecked on-chain: GHO, 18 decimals

Open data (JSON) ↗

What you get

GHO is a decentralised, over-collateralised stablecoin native to the Aave Protocol.

02

How do I get out?

FeesClaimed

Conversions through the GHO Stability Module carry a percentage fee that goes to the Aave DAO treasury.

“Each GSM instance has a FeeStrategy contract that determines a percentage fee for buy and sell conversions that is allocated to the Aave DAO treasury.”
Source: Aave — Product documentationPublished: publication date not statedArchived: 24 Oct 2026Reviewed: 24 Oct 2026
✓ Quote found word for word in the latest snapshot
Redemption for moneyUnknown

The documents we archive don't answer this yet.

Who may redeemUnknown

The documents we archive don't answer this yet.

When redemption can be suspendedUnknown

The documents we archive don't answer this yet.

03

What backs the claim?

Reserve assetsClaimed

GHO relies on over-collateralisation in the Aave Protocol and market mechanisms to hold its value.

“Its stability is maintained through market efficiencies and over-collateralisation mechanisms inherent in the Aave Protocol.”
Source: Aave — Product documentationPublished: publication date not statedArchived: 24 Oct 2026Reviewed: 24 Oct 2026
✓ Quote found word for word in the latest snapshot
CustodyUnknown

The documents we archive don't answer this yet.

Attestation and its scopeUnknown

The documents we archive don't answer this yet.

04

Who can change the rules?

Issuing new tokensClaimed

Only facilitator contracts approved by Aave Governance can mint and burn GHO, each within a governance-set cap.

“Facilitators are contracts approved by Aave Governance with the ability to mint and burn GHO, each subject to a governance-defined mint cap.”
Source: Aave — Product documentationPublished: publication date not statedArchived: 24 Oct 2026Reviewed: 24 Oct 2026
✓ Quote found word for word in the latest snapshot
Changing the termsClaimed

If GHO trades outside $0.995–$1.005 on a 30-day average, the GHO Stewards may adjust the borrow rate by up to 500 bps per two days, to at most 25% APR.

“If the trailing 30-day average price of GHO stays outside a $0.995 - $1.005 price range, the GHO Stewards are able to adjust the Borrow Rate no more than 500bps per 2-day period, up to a maximum 25% APR.”
Source: Aave — Product documentationPublished: publication date not statedArchived: 24 Oct 2026Reviewed: 24 Oct 2026
✓ Quote found word for word in the latest snapshot
Freezing and blockingUnknown

The documents we archive don't answer this yet.

Upgrading the contractUnknown

The documents we archive don't answer this yet.

From the contract

Read directly from the blockchain — measurements, not statements. block 26262937, read 24 Oct 2026, 13:54 UTC

These addresses are keys that control the contract. Their own balance does not matter: a key with almost no funds can still control every token.

Tokens in circulation699,000,000 GHO
Contract code can be replaced (proxy)Not detected by our standard checks
05

Evidence: archived sources

Each source is fetched once a day. We publish its fingerprint and changes, and link to the original.

SourceLast checkedStatusVersionsLast changedSHA-256
Product documentation
Aave
24 Oct 2026, 13:53 UTCArchived1—1e03951d…e39152 ⏱
Contract addresses
BGD Labs for the Aave DAO
24 Oct 2026, 13:53 UTCArchived1—aed7750b…a5d488 ⏱
?

What we don't know

These questions have no answer in the documents we archive. That is a gap, not a verdict.

Who owes the holderHolder rightsRegulator / licenceGoverning law and disputesRedemption for moneyWho may redeemWhen redemption can be suspendedCustodyAttestation and its scopeFreezing and blockingUpgrading the contract